top of page

8 Days of Thanksgiving

Most people outside of North America don’t celebrate Thanksgiving. As thousands of American students go home to be with their families, The International will be showcasing what different Syracuse students do over Thanksgiving break.

Duncan Lambden

November 18, 2017

"I’m Australian but I live in London so going home isn’t really an option. I always visit a friend’s family but this year I’m going to LA to visit some friends who graduated last year. I’ve never really explored any of the West coast of America so I’m looking forward to being shown around all the “trendy LA hotspots.” This will also be my first official “Friendsgiving.” Shout out to Sahan, Dan, and Emily!"

Valery Soy

November 19, 2017

"I’m from Kenya and I will be spending my Thanksgiving with my cousins in Atlanta. I’m really lucky to have family in the US as going back home wouldn’t be possible for me. Taking a break from the Syracuse weather is a relief! Don’t get me wrong, I love SU but I hate the weather, and although the dining hall food is pretty decent, having a home cooked meal is really nice and having people to share it with is even better. I can’t wait!"

Emiri Vithoontien

November 20, 2017

"I’m from Thailand and this year I’m spending my Thanksgiving in New York City with my friends and brother. Although I haven’t seen all of NYC, I’m pretty sick of it since I always have to travel to NYC on the way back and from Thailand. One thing I am looking forward to though is having my second Thanksgiving dinner with my roommate Brooke’s family! Let’s hope I don’t have a food coma again like last year."

Julia Duarte

November 21, 2017

"I'm from New Jersey and Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays of the year. It’s always held at my aunt and uncle’s house in Metuchen, NJ, only 20 minutes away from where I live and they do a really interesting rendition of your “traditional American Thanksgiving.” Since my uncle married a 100% Polish-American woman, they bridge both Filipino and American cultures together at the table. So on one end of the table there’s lumpia, kare-kare, adobo, and fried rice while on the other side there’s turkey, mashed potatoes, and stuffing. As a Filipino-American myself, when I look at the table it’s a perfect representation of who I am. Other people may look at my family as a little unconventional during Thanksgiving, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world."

Deniz Sahinturk

November 22, 2017

"I'm from Turkey and I'm going to Seattle to visit some friends. I'm gonna eat - most of my friends are bartenders, so that's self explanatory. I'm gonna write, I didn't have the time this semester. I'm excited to not have to drive places. It's my second time there now - I was there last summer for two months for an internship."

Ali Bogari

November 23, 2017

"I'm from Saudi and I'm going to New York City with my friends. Or I might do what I did last year – go to Tennessee, rent a cabin in the Smokey Mountains with my international friends in Kentucky. It was really fun. Chilly in the cabin, small town. It’s one of the best places in the USA."

Heather Mutch

November 24, 2017

"I'm from Lockerbie Scotland and it's amazing that people here opened their doors for me. They're so welcoming. I'm going to New Jersey, but I'm not sure what part. New Jersey is much bigger than Scotland. I'll be there for a whole week. Americans are great fun. I've looked up Black Friday shopping, and that seems eventful. I wanna see New York City. The biggest city I've been to is London, I'm so excited."

Will Devito

November 25, 2017

"I'm going to my dads side of the family in Eastern Long Island. My philosophy on Thanksgiving is that it's pretty much like any other family gathering but with very specific and delicious food. It's just about catching up with everyone, having a good time, and kicking off the holiday season."

bottom of page